HN reviews more great books!

 

Fish Kid and the Lizard Ninja

Kylie Howarth

It may sound like it is a superhero book but it is actually about sea animals and a sea crazy family. Fish Kid is a brilliant story and there is also some very interesting facts about sea creatures! I think this book is mostly aimed at 7-11 year old boys but girls can also read it! Did you know that a sea cucumber [yes, there is such thing as a sea cucumber!] breathes through its anus?

Wakestone Hall

Judith Rossell

This book is the very last in the Stella Montgomery series and is even better than the first two! Most girls aged 9-12 will have read the first two and will love this one just as much as they loved the others. These books are mysterious and magical and I recommend that you read all of these books, as they are some of the most brilliant books I have read!

There is one more to come which also looks great.

Watch this space!

Using Merge Cube with Year 5

The brief is to teach Science, the subject, the Solar System. So far we have worked on the International Space Station – having a go at the Minecraft Challenge to design a new module, watching Commander Chris Hadfield  as he cleans his teeth, goes to bed and eventually comes back to earth with a thud and eventually holding the whole universe in our hand courtesy of the Merge Cube.

It’s been a steep learning curve this term for all of us!

The Ice Monster

The cover of this intriguing title

David Walliams

Tony Ross

This book is perfect for fans of David Walliams and it is even perfect for people who haven’t read his books. It is really funny and exciting with interesting characters. The plot is well planned and there are twists in the story that are unsuspected. This book is a definite must read for kids aged 8-12 because even though the book may look thick it hasn’t got heaps of difficult words! Tony Ross does a brilliant job of illustrating the book and the pictures work well with the text. If you have read David Walliams books before there is a well-known character in this book….. Raj the newsagent! In this book David Walliams certainly lives up to his expectations.

By HN Grade 5

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Karen Foxlee

This book is absolutely brilliant. I think that this is one of the best books I have read. It is a story about discovering new things and losing people close to you heart. Even though it might sound sad it is actually a really happy story with a bit of sadness. The words describe scenes and the characters very well so you can easily imagine what happens. This book will take you on a rollercoaster ride about the preciousness and brilliance of life. It is aimed at 10-13 year-olds but adults can read it too!

A great read!

Reviewed by HN

Digital Innovation and Smart Agriculture Festival – Hamilton 21-24 May 2019

Last Thursday a group of College staff participated in the inaugural DISA event, run by the Shire of Southern Grampians. It was a first in so many ways, but led by the fearless Mrs Alana Brown, we put together a plan and negotiated our space and our presentation to demonstrate that we are one school from Early Learning through to VCE.

The event allowed us to demonstrate the work we do in classrooms in terms of coding, working in online environments, collaborating and creating.  It was a huge logistical exercise and we realised, yet again, how lucky we are to have proficient and learning focused technical support from Mr Mitchell Clode and Mr Ian Cook.

These are the things we shared:

Mr Cook helping to set up the virtual reality activity
Evie modelling the activity with a virtual unicorn
Is it really on Hattie’s hand?
Katie and George modelling spheros; Ned and Charlie on MinecraftEDU
A view of our stand
A better view of MinecraftEDU on the big screen
Hi 5 Mr Mirtschin!
Angus and his vehicle
Spot the Old Collegian in the background!
Jock presents studying with RIST while still at school
Codeapillars – used by our Early learning students to demonstrate how different codes change the outcome
Visitors engrossed in 3D printing (including Grade 4 work) and an electronic challenge faced by year 9 and 10 students last year
Showing visitors how to direct spheros
Jock studies with RIST and last year Grade 4 blogged about their work at RIST with the @Lams project

For a different perspective, this” is from Dougal in Grade 5 (brother of Ned mentioned above):

“How lucky were we! Charlie Hawthorne and I attended the Digital Technologies Hub as students presenting on behalf of the Hamilton and Alexandra College Junior School on Thursday last week. It was a great experience, something I certainly will not forget in a hurry.  There were many stalls showcasing technology which included virtual reality and game designing.  My personal highlight was definitely the drones.  Deakin University had a stall where you got to fly the drones through an obstacle course. If you were skilled enough to complete the course you won a prize – a reusable coffee cup or a drink bottle.  We proudly demonstrated the great work that we have been doing in Minecraft and the many different ways that it can be used in the classroom. We all created models and were lucky enough to see them come to life through a 3D printer. I would like to thank Mr Mirtschin and Mrs Simkin for giving us this awesome opportunity and Mrs Brown for taking photos and organising everyone.”

Dougal W Year 5 

 

The Dog Who Lost His Bark – Book Review

The Dog who lost his Bark  

By: Eoin Colfer

P.J Lynch

This book is a two part story about a boy called Patrick and a lonely puppy named Oz. The book starts off with Oz’s story and then Patrick’s. Eventually the two’s stories are connected and Oz finds a true friend. But Patrick has to deal with a family problem. This brilliant story is a must read for children who love dogs and music.

The Cover

By HN Grade 5

Young Heroes – Book Review

Young Heroes

by

Lula Bridgeport, Frederica Frenna, Isabel Munoz, Julianna Swaney

Cover of this book

Pablo Picasso, Taylor Swift and others. They’re all famous in some way. But have you ever wondered how they became famous? In this book you can learn all about how they became celebrities and the ways you can become like them. It doesn’t have to be singing, drawing or athletics.

All these children in this book are heroes in one or another. In the book you can learn how they became heroes and you can learn about ways to become like them.

Review by HN Year 5

VIBE 2018

This year’s VIBE Festival activity was titled Planking The VIBE.  It was set up so that groups of students were challenged to construct a specific object from a pile of planks. Planks are all the same size and weight and come from a Melbourne Company called Green hat Workshop. 

Working in small teams and within a tight timeframe, students were challenged to construct a bridge, a face, a word with minimum length, and copy a picture from a card.

The collaboration between students from our school and visitors they may not have met before was wonderful.

The challenge, make a face saw Donald Trump joining us!

The method of constructing face varied between 2D and 3D:

Our intrepid judges would issue the challenge, start the timer, then make structures of their own, in between checking out the action and warning of the impending end of time. Thanks Angus and Lach!

The last devious test set up by the judges was to construct a word to describe the session of more than 6 letters. We had some creative solutions:

Fanplankuous!

Well done everyone. Thanks to Cam at Green Hat Workshop for suggesting the timed tasks.

 

Climate Action – a Global Project

Last week we received an exciting email advising us that we had been selected to represent our country and state  in a global climate action project. There will be over 200 schools from more than 59 countries involved. The project will start in October and run for the first three weeks of Term 4.

Our Year 5 Class – participants in Climate Action

While we await further information we have convinced Mr Rob Drummond, who has been acknowledged by the Geography Teachers’ Association of Victoria as an outstanding Geography teacher, and is also a world renowned photographer specialising in birds to be our local celebrity. You can see examples of his work here.

We are all very excited. This links to recent work with Year 5 Library on the United Nations Sustainable Development goals.

Last week we also linked the content to Book Week through sharing The Patchwork Bike by Maxine Beneba Clark, Illustrated by Van T Rudd, which has been nominated for best Picture Book of the Year.

 

 

Planking in the Library with Year 6!

The other day I was delighted to receive a booking request from Mrs Nettleton relating to a smaller than usual class due an event, and the amazing box of 1000 planks.  Planks are small pieces of timber which are weighted identically and our set is all the same colour.

It was a busy afternoon for study so I had some concerns about how the activities would co-exist. These turned out to be baseless.

I chose two activities on the basis of the number of planks required, and the number of groups of students working in pairs or threes for which we had to cater. The students receive a photograph of the construction with the number of planks required, and that’s all – no recipe for this activity!

Some students worked on the boat.

And when it got hard Jack sent out a message!
Collaboration
Instructions and suggestions
Teamwork
Concentration
Intensity!
Satisfaction
Daring
Balance
Enjoyment
Adding more!
Celebration
What do we need to add?
So far so good!
Satisfaction!
YES!
Just adding a bit more.
And it had better balance!

Others had a small farmyard with outbuildings. This one proved to be far trickier.

Looks pretty easy!
But balancing the walls was hard.
The farmyard offered fewer challenges than balancing the walls of the farmhouse.
Now what if you…
Floor laid. Walls???
Comparison in constructions rates between the two challenges is obvious in this photo!
Now what?
And resilience – when the walls fall down we start again!