Careers Briefing

We often host past students in the building. Arrangements are made by the indomitable Mrs. Manifold.

Today we had a visit from Lucy Bunge (School Captain several years ago) who was talking to attendees about living at St. Mark’s College in Adelaide.

Another school captain who lives here is Lukas Egger.

She shared positive comments about her course, her accommodation and her decision to take a gap year after finishing school. She worked at Oakham, where many of our gap students come from.

At the same time, the amazing Amy Steer (whip cracker) – class of 2018, talked to students interested in studying Agriculture – she attends the University of New England. Some keen attendees picked her brain!

 

The Ice Monster

The cover of this intriguing title

David Walliams

Tony Ross

This book is perfect for fans of David Walliams and it is even perfect for people who haven’t read his books. It is really funny and exciting with interesting characters. The plot is well planned and there are twists in the story that are unsuspected. This book is a definite must read for kids aged 8-12 because even though the book may look thick it hasn’t got heaps of difficult words! Tony Ross does a brilliant job of illustrating the book and the pictures work well with the text. If you have read David Walliams books before there is a well-known character in this book….. Raj the newsagent! In this book David Walliams certainly lives up to his expectations.

By HN Grade 5

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Karen Foxlee

This book is absolutely brilliant. I think that this is one of the best books I have read. It is a story about discovering new things and losing people close to you heart. Even though it might sound sad it is actually a really happy story with a bit of sadness. The words describe scenes and the characters very well so you can easily imagine what happens. This book will take you on a rollercoaster ride about the preciousness and brilliance of life. It is aimed at 10-13 year-olds but adults can read it too!

A great read!

Reviewed by HN

Digital Innovation and Smart Agriculture Festival – Hamilton 21-24 May 2019

Last Thursday a group of College staff participated in the inaugural DISA event, run by the Shire of Southern Grampians. It was a first in so many ways, but led by the fearless Mrs Alana Brown, we put together a plan and negotiated our space and our presentation to demonstrate that we are one school from Early Learning through to VCE.

The event allowed us to demonstrate the work we do in classrooms in terms of coding, working in online environments, collaborating and creating.  It was a huge logistical exercise and we realised, yet again, how lucky we are to have proficient and learning focused technical support from Mr Mitchell Clode and Mr Ian Cook.

These are the things we shared:

Mr Cook helping to set up the virtual reality activity
Evie modelling the activity with a virtual unicorn
Is it really on Hattie’s hand?
Katie and George modelling spheros; Ned and Charlie on MinecraftEDU
A view of our stand
A better view of MinecraftEDU on the big screen
Hi 5 Mr Mirtschin!
Angus and his vehicle
Spot the Old Collegian in the background!
Jock presents studying with RIST while still at school
Codeapillars – used by our Early learning students to demonstrate how different codes change the outcome
Visitors engrossed in 3D printing (including Grade 4 work) and an electronic challenge faced by year 9 and 10 students last year
Showing visitors how to direct spheros
Jock studies with RIST and last year Grade 4 blogged about their work at RIST with the @Lams project

For a different perspective, this” is from Dougal in Grade 5 (brother of Ned mentioned above):

“How lucky were we! Charlie Hawthorne and I attended the Digital Technologies Hub as students presenting on behalf of the Hamilton and Alexandra College Junior School on Thursday last week. It was a great experience, something I certainly will not forget in a hurry.  There were many stalls showcasing technology which included virtual reality and game designing.  My personal highlight was definitely the drones.  Deakin University had a stall where you got to fly the drones through an obstacle course. If you were skilled enough to complete the course you won a prize – a reusable coffee cup or a drink bottle.  We proudly demonstrated the great work that we have been doing in Minecraft and the many different ways that it can be used in the classroom. We all created models and were lucky enough to see them come to life through a 3D printer. I would like to thank Mr Mirtschin and Mrs Simkin for giving us this awesome opportunity and Mrs Brown for taking photos and organising everyone.”

Dougal W Year 5 

 

National Simultaneous Storytime 2019

National Simultaneous Storytime  is an annual celebration reading and sharing a picture book by an Australian author, which takes place across the nation at 11am on the designated day.

This year the chosen title is Alpacas With Maracas  by Matt Cosgrove, and we celebrated across the school and within our local community.

Given the nature of school programs and accessibility, some of the readings were either a little before 11am or a while later, but the main event, described first, took place at the official time!

The Student Representative Council at the Junior School ran an event with a mystery reader.

Who is behind this mask?

Our very own Mrs Kelvy was the dramatic figure behind the mask.

She read with flair, pleasing all who were there!

And the audience enjoyed the reading.

The event was well received and much fun. Thanks to Mrs Callinan and the SRC for their organisation.

That was great!

The Prep students, in their alpaca head dresses headed over to share the fun with the Early Learning Centre 3 year old group.

Heading over the driveway to share the fun.

Early Learning Centre 3 Year old group took a very different angle as can be seen in the photograph below!

Taking a different perspective!

A little after 11am the Senior School attendees participated in the Library.

This was title another good choice – thanks ALIA!

They had to listen to me, but they soon became part of the performance.

Not often an adult reads a picture book aloud to them these days.
The rhyme and colour drew them in
From reluctance to communal participation was a quick transition.
Even the senior study students chose to listen
And a posed shot to finish the event!

Thanks to Miss Hodge, Mrs Bradbeer and Ms Couchman for bringing their classes, and Ms Couchman for taking the photos. The Year 9 English classes returned to their classroom with a tub of 20 picture fiction titles and enjoyed sharing books with each other.

The Final event in the day took place at lunchtime. A group who regularly visit The Birches, a local aged care facility, to read to and talk with the residents, took Alpacas with Maracas to read and donate to their audience.

Here is the report from Mrs Bernadette Milich, our Deputy Head of Junior School.

“We had fun sharing Alpacas with Maracas at The Birches (an aged care facility adjacent to the hospital). We even borrowed maracas from Mrs Christie (our Music teacher) to play at the appropriate time. We also gave them to most of the residents who played them throughout the story.

Tom Templeton was our reader and he did a great job.

He also wrote a little message in the book we gave them.

The students were from Years 2, 3 and 4.

It is lovely to see the younger students interacting with older members of their community. They have really embraced this opportunity and every time we go I have to leave many volunteers at school. They are so keen but numbers are limited.

After the group reading of the story, there was still time for our usual story and conversation time where quite a few residents had the story reread to them.”

What will next year’s title be – and how will we celebrate?

Lunchtime in our Senior Library

A busy day in our newly renovated space.

Teachers were helping students in their lunchtimes

Subject assistance

Students were planning a debate

Planning

Students were involved in diverse activities

You build, I’ll read!

For some Year 12 students keeping up (or getting ahead) was important

Year 12 – it’s serious

Some students were competing to be millionaires!

Monopoly

Just a typical range of experiences on offer in our Senior School library.

Wellness Week Celebrations

Last week the whole school celebrated Wellness. Perhaps we offered too many options for celebrating! Of the specific Library offerings the only one actually taken up was the mindfulness colouring. There was plenty of action with Minecraft in the IT end though: multiple ages of males (not one female except me!) all interacting with each other and the screens.

 

The other excitement was generated by the visit from the Conga line, ably led by Tom of Year 6. They were dancing fast so the photographs are blurry but the energy and excitement is obvious!