HN reviews more great books!

 

Fish Kid and the Lizard Ninja

Kylie Howarth

It may sound like it is a superhero book but it is actually about sea animals and a sea crazy family. Fish Kid is a brilliant story and there is also some very interesting facts about sea creatures! I think this book is mostly aimed at 7-11 year old boys but girls can also read it! Did you know that a sea cucumber [yes, there is such thing as a sea cucumber!] breathes through its anus?

Wakestone Hall

Judith Rossell

This book is the very last in the Stella Montgomery series and is even better than the first two! Most girls aged 9-12 will have read the first two and will love this one just as much as they loved the others. These books are mysterious and magical and I recommend that you read all of these books, as they are some of the most brilliant books I have read!

There is one more to come which also looks great.

Watch this space!

Harry Potter Turns 39!

Today we celebrated Harry Potter’s 39th birthday! Mrs Hartwich, who assists our school by providing casual relief teaching, is a collector of Potterphenalia!

When she travels she collects Potter books printed in the language of the country she has visited.

Hunter in front of the titles
Selfie in Potterland!

She had Welsh, Polish, Thai, Dutch, German, Chinese, Hebrew and Czech editions and offered a prize to anyone who could identify the language.

The winners were Jasmyn and Lydia and they received a MacDonald’s voucher each from Mrs Hartwich!

We also wrote in a card which we will send to J.K Rowling as a token of our celebrations.

Who is this masked man?
Selfie station was go!
Selfie with a beard.
The beard proved popular
Mrs Simkin with beard!
Even with the older attendees.
Harry also sported the moustache!
The cover of the jigsaw puzzle may have been involved!
Lydia made the fun happen
Lydia made the fun happen
And sported the beard for a while
And sported the beard for a while

During the celebrations we have been privileged to have been lent the quilt Mrs Hartwich made to celebrate Hogwarts.

This quilt was made by Mrs Hartwich and has been entered in a competition.
This quilt was made by Mrs Hartwich and has been entered in a competition.
And this is the other side of the quilt.
And this is the other side of the quilt.
The current captains enjoyed their usual game of Uno - and the lollypops
The current captains enjoyed their usual game of Uno – and the lollypops

 

Careers Briefing

We often host past students in the building. Arrangements are made by the indomitable Mrs. Manifold.

Today we had a visit from Lucy Bunge (School Captain several years ago) who was talking to attendees about living at St. Mark’s College in Adelaide.

Another school captain who lives here is Lukas Egger.

She shared positive comments about her course, her accommodation and her decision to take a gap year after finishing school. She worked at Oakham, where many of our gap students come from.

At the same time, the amazing Amy Steer (whip cracker) – class of 2018, talked to students interested in studying Agriculture – she attends the University of New England. Some keen attendees picked her brain!

 

VIBE Festival 2019 – Shh! There are spies everywhere!

Our Senior School Library is Always a Bit VIBEy!

The VIBE Festival is on again – the annual event that allows visitors to join us and see what College is like. As always, the Senior School offered a range of events, two of which occurred in our Winifred Berry Information Centre.

 

my VIBE T- shirt gets another airing!

Our theme this year was Spies and we talked about Nancy Wake (The White Mouse) and her heroism in World War 2. Nancy recently passed away in her nineties. She is Australia’s most militarily decorated woman of all time.

Nancy was not alone. There were 10,000 people working on code breaking at Bletchley Park in the UK and over 75% of them were women. In Melbourne, and Brisbane: “The secret work that took place in Monterey – and complementary intelligence slog in a suburban house named Nyrambla in Ascot, Brisbane – changed the course of the war in the Pacific.” Tony Wright, who grew up near Portland and went to school in Hamilton, has recently written about their work, click here to read more.

The IT room hosted Minecraft, see more here

 

 

The Ice Monster

The cover of this intriguing title

David Walliams

Tony Ross

This book is perfect for fans of David Walliams and it is even perfect for people who haven’t read his books. It is really funny and exciting with interesting characters. The plot is well planned and there are twists in the story that are unsuspected. This book is a definite must read for kids aged 8-12 because even though the book may look thick it hasn’t got heaps of difficult words! Tony Ross does a brilliant job of illustrating the book and the pictures work well with the text. If you have read David Walliams books before there is a well-known character in this book….. Raj the newsagent! In this book David Walliams certainly lives up to his expectations.

By HN Grade 5

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Karen Foxlee

This book is absolutely brilliant. I think that this is one of the best books I have read. It is a story about discovering new things and losing people close to you heart. Even though it might sound sad it is actually a really happy story with a bit of sadness. The words describe scenes and the characters very well so you can easily imagine what happens. This book will take you on a rollercoaster ride about the preciousness and brilliance of life. It is aimed at 10-13 year-olds but adults can read it too!

A great read!

Reviewed by HN

National Simultaneous Storytime 2019

National Simultaneous Storytime  is an annual celebration reading and sharing a picture book by an Australian author, which takes place across the nation at 11am on the designated day.

This year the chosen title is Alpacas With Maracas  by Matt Cosgrove, and we celebrated across the school and within our local community.

Given the nature of school programs and accessibility, some of the readings were either a little before 11am or a while later, but the main event, described first, took place at the official time!

The Student Representative Council at the Junior School ran an event with a mystery reader.

Who is behind this mask?

Our very own Mrs Kelvy was the dramatic figure behind the mask.

She read with flair, pleasing all who were there!

And the audience enjoyed the reading.

The event was well received and much fun. Thanks to Mrs Callinan and the SRC for their organisation.

That was great!

The Prep students, in their alpaca head dresses headed over to share the fun with the Early Learning Centre 3 year old group.

Heading over the driveway to share the fun.

Early Learning Centre 3 Year old group took a very different angle as can be seen in the photograph below!

Taking a different perspective!

A little after 11am the Senior School attendees participated in the Library.

This was title another good choice – thanks ALIA!

They had to listen to me, but they soon became part of the performance.

Not often an adult reads a picture book aloud to them these days.
The rhyme and colour drew them in
From reluctance to communal participation was a quick transition.
Even the senior study students chose to listen
And a posed shot to finish the event!

Thanks to Miss Hodge, Mrs Bradbeer and Ms Couchman for bringing their classes, and Ms Couchman for taking the photos. The Year 9 English classes returned to their classroom with a tub of 20 picture fiction titles and enjoyed sharing books with each other.

The Final event in the day took place at lunchtime. A group who regularly visit The Birches, a local aged care facility, to read to and talk with the residents, took Alpacas with Maracas to read and donate to their audience.

Here is the report from Mrs Bernadette Milich, our Deputy Head of Junior School.

“We had fun sharing Alpacas with Maracas at The Birches (an aged care facility adjacent to the hospital). We even borrowed maracas from Mrs Christie (our Music teacher) to play at the appropriate time. We also gave them to most of the residents who played them throughout the story.

Tom Templeton was our reader and he did a great job.

He also wrote a little message in the book we gave them.

The students were from Years 2, 3 and 4.

It is lovely to see the younger students interacting with older members of their community. They have really embraced this opportunity and every time we go I have to leave many volunteers at school. They are so keen but numbers are limited.

After the group reading of the story, there was still time for our usual story and conversation time where quite a few residents had the story reread to them.”

What will next year’s title be – and how will we celebrate?

Lunchtime in our Senior Library

A busy day in our newly renovated space.

Teachers were helping students in their lunchtimes

Subject assistance

Students were planning a debate

Planning

Students were involved in diverse activities

You build, I’ll read!

For some Year 12 students keeping up (or getting ahead) was important

Year 12 – it’s serious

Some students were competing to be millionaires!

Monopoly

Just a typical range of experiences on offer in our Senior School library.

The Dog Who Lost His Bark – Book Review

The Dog who lost his Bark  

By: Eoin Colfer

P.J Lynch

This book is a two part story about a boy called Patrick and a lonely puppy named Oz. The book starts off with Oz’s story and then Patrick’s. Eventually the two’s stories are connected and Oz finds a true friend. But Patrick has to deal with a family problem. This brilliant story is a must read for children who love dogs and music.

The Cover

By HN Grade 5

Young Heroes – Book Review

Young Heroes

by

Lula Bridgeport, Frederica Frenna, Isabel Munoz, Julianna Swaney

Cover of this book

Pablo Picasso, Taylor Swift and others. They’re all famous in some way. But have you ever wondered how they became famous? In this book you can learn all about how they became celebrities and the ways you can become like them. It doesn’t have to be singing, drawing or athletics.

All these children in this book are heroes in one or another. In the book you can learn how they became heroes and you can learn about ways to become like them.

Review by HN Year 5