The Ice Monster

The cover of this intriguing title

David Walliams

Tony Ross

This book is perfect for fans of David Walliams and it is even perfect for people who haven’t read his books. It is really funny and exciting with interesting characters. The plot is well planned and there are twists in the story that are unsuspected. This book is a definite must read for kids aged 8-12 because even though the book may look thick it hasn’t got heaps of difficult words! Tony Ross does a brilliant job of illustrating the book and the pictures work well with the text. If you have read David Walliams books before there is a well-known character in this book….. Raj the newsagent! In this book David Walliams certainly lives up to his expectations.

By HN Grade 5

Year 7 Breakout EDU Ancient China

Two of our year 7 classes have studied History in Semester 1 and their year finished with a challenging task.

Three boxes, three types of keys, four groups. Who was most cunning? Who was most frustrated and who solved problems fastest? One thing for sure, the tasks were devious!

Some students were straight onto the number, while others were quicker on the word. The final lock revealed another puzzle identifying errors in an image from a book by A.J Wood called Errata 

Well done Year 7!

Cold War BreakoutEDU with Year 10 History:

This week the Library staff have assisted Mrs Ogle with a different type of learning experience. Students worked in teams to unlock three different boxes containing activities and information relating to the Cold War.

This is what they see at the start of the process:

One lock was opened by cracking the right word, one required a key, which was issued once a complete ticket was handed to the teacher, and one required the correct numbers deduced from a cryptic clue that led to a date. It is interesting watching the way students solve the problems, and often the best results are obtained by those who may not generally excel with typical written exercises. In addition to content students learn how to apply critical thinking and collaborate, both useful skills for real life. Watch the students agonising over the task!